Suggested reading and resources

Accounting institutes and associations

New Brunswick


Since July 2015, all accounting professions in Alberta have unified under the CPA, which now comprise more than 28,000 members. 

British Columbia

  • Institute of Chartered Accountants of British Columbia

Accountants across B.C. no longer divided between CGA, CA, CMA designations after CPA Act given royal assent 


The Chartered Professional Accountants Act of Manitoba was proclaimed on September 1, 2015 and established the Chartered Professional Accountant (“CPA”) designation in Manitoba. The Act replaced The Chartered Accountants ActThe Certified Management Accountants ActThe Certified General Accountants Act and The Certified Public Accountants Actwhich previously governed the designated accounting profession in Manitoba.

Newfoundland and Labrador

Nova Scotia

With the proclamation of the Chartered Professional Accountants Act in August 2016, all legacy accounting bodies cease to exist. Certified Management Accountants, Chartered Accountants and Certified General Accountants in Nova Scotia are now officially Chartered Professional Accountants (CPA)


Since May 2017, the Chartered Professional Accountants of Ontario Act, 2017, has finalized the unification of Ontario’s accounting profession.


Professional accountants in Saskatchewan are represented by a single, self-regulating body and hold the designation Chartered Professional Accountant (CPA). Legislation to create the Institute of Chartered Professional Accountants of Saskatchewan (CPA Saskatchewan) was proclaimed November 10, 2014. CPA Saskatchewan resulted from the merger of the three legacy accounting bodies, the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Saskatchewan (CA), and the Society of Management Accountants of Saskatchewan (CMA) and the Certified General Accountants Association of Saskatchewan (CGA). 

Northwest Territories

  • Institute of Chartered Accountants of the Northwest Territories and Nunavut

Prince Edward Island